Texas Suspended License
Losing your driving privileges is a frustrating experience. If you have had your driving privileges revoked, then you should receive notification in the mail from the Department of Public Safety. The DPS is responsible for mailing all notices and handling all orders that have to do with suspension actions. If you are wondering if your driving privileges have been revoked, then it is not only a good idea to check with the DPS to ensure they have your correct address on file, but to order a copy of your driving record as well.
Check Your Driving Record
- The first thing that is necessary to do is to check your driving record. Texas motorists have the option of ordering their driving record through the DPS or through a third-party vendor online. You can also order your driving record in person at a Driver License Division Compliance location.
Order Driving Record Online
- Ordering your driving record online is likely the simplest of the methods to obtain your driving record. The advantage of ordering online is that you have instant access to your driving record. You will be required to pay via MasterCard, Visa, or American Express card. For more information regarding ordering your driving report online visit our Driving Record Section which will connect you with the proper companies to order your online driving report.
Order Driving Record By Mail
In order to order your driving report by mail, you must:
- Fill out and Application for Copy of Driver Record
- At the top of the application there will be the various types of driving records which you can order. Determine which type you would like and include the applicable fee which ranges from $4 to $10.
Include with your application a check or money order payable to the Texas DPS and mail to:
- Driver Records Bureau
- Texas DPS
- P.O. Box 1493246
- Austin, TX 78714-9246
When ordering your driving report by mail, you should allow two to three weeks to receive your driver’s record. If for some reason you fail to receive your report then you can alert the Texas TBS at:
- Texas DPS
- Attn: D.R.B / Driver Records
- 5805 North Lamar
- Austin TX 78752
Be sure to include a copy of the front and back of your canceled check with your alert. You can also fax the Texas DPS at (512)424-7285
Suspended in All States?
With the great advance in technology, most states communicate and share records easily with one another. Therefore, if you have a conviction in another state, it will appear on your Texas driving record.
The states connect to one another through what is called the National Driver Register which is a computerized database which each sate’s motor vehicle agency maintains for their state. The information on registered drivers is entered and each state across the United States has access to the information.
Another way in which the stats connect to each other is through an Interstate compact which is called the Driver License Compact where the states exchange information on driving suspensions.
Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License
There are many reasons a Texas motorist may have their driving privileges suspended. Therefore, penalties will vary. To determine what your penalties for driving with a suspended license you will need to contact the Texas DPS Driver License Division’s Customer Service Bureau. This can be done via telephone or Internet form. Should you choose to contact the Texas DPS Driver License Division’s Customer Service Bureau via website.
You will need to include personal information such as your name, your date of birth, your driver’s license number and mailing address as well as your email box and telephone number.
To contact the Texas DPS Driver License Division’s Customer Service Bureau via telephone call:
- For English (512)424-2600
- For Spanish (512)424-7181
Customer service lines are open Monday through Friday with the exception of holidays from 7:30 am to 6 p.m. central time.
Should you be pulled over while driving on a suspended license, it is a serious offense. 4dmv.com suggests that should you find yourself in this situation to immediately seek the advice of an attorney, who may be able to improve the situation.
Obtain a Restricted License
There are times that a motorist who has had their license suspended can obtain a restricted license. Cases such as having your license revoked for medical issues or if you failed to pay child support, you may be eligible to apply occupational license. An occupational license will allow you to drive in the following circumstances:
- To and from work
- To and from school or a school related activity
- Carrying out essential household duties
Occupational licenses can be requested through both the district and county court in the county which you reside or where you committed the offense. The Texas Transportation Code Section 521.242.37 Texas Administrative Code 15.7
If you are enrolled in a special drug court program you can ask your judge to grant you the occupational order. Otherwise you must:
- Obtain certifiable copies of the court order which grants the occupational license and the petition
- Ask your insurance company for an SR-22 Certificate of Insurance. Visit for more information on SR-22 Certificate of insurance.
- Should you be in the market for insurance for your vehicle, visit 4dmv.com’s Insurance Center Section
- Have the required amount occupational license fee to obtain an occupational license for one year or less. The maximum allowance for an occupational license is two years. For more information on occupational license fees visit: Driver License Division Fees
- If you were required to complete any of the following programs, you will be responsible for a reinstatement fee:
- Safety Responsibility
- Driver Improvement
- Administrative License Revocation (ALR)
Once you have gathered the documents above with the appropriate fees, visit your local Texas DPS office.
Reinstate Your License
When it comes time to reinstate your license, you will likely need to have fulfilled specific requirements. 4dmv.com recommends that you consult an attorney for specifics. There are many situations that can cause a change in your insurance policy, meaning you insurance premiums are increased. If you are in the market to shop for lower insurance rates, visit our Insurance Center Section where we find you the best deals available on the market.
To reinstate your license you will normally have to:
- Pay the applicable fees in check or money order to the Texas DPS
- Include with your check or money order your full name, birth date and your driver’s license number
If you are responsible for reinstatement fees, mail the documentation along with the fees to:
- Texas DPS
- Central Cash Receiving
- P.O. Box 15999
- Austin, TX 78761-5999
If you are not responsible for reinstatement fees, mail the documentation only to:
- Texas DPS
- Driver Improvement and Compliance Bureau
- P.O. Box 4087
- Austin, TX 78773-0001
- If you have been pulled over for suspicion of driving under the influence and refuse or fail a breath test, the state has the right to revoke your driving privileges for 90 days to two years. In order to have your license reinstated you will have to pay a reinstatement fee. Visit for more information on reinstatement fees.
The maximum suspension time that a license may be suspended due to a DWI is two years. If you are under the age of 21 at the time you receive your DWI your license will automatically be suspended for a timeframe of a year. To reinstate your driver’s license on when the time period is up you must:
- Pay the reinstatement fee
- Submit proof of your insurance via a Form SR-22 to the Texas Department of Public Safety
- If you were required to complete a DWI education program you must also submit your certificate of completion to the DPS prior to your suspension period expiring.
If you are convicted of a drug offense, your driver’s license will automatically be suspended for a time frame of 180 days. In order to have your driver’s license reinstated you must:
- Submit the reinstate fee
- Submit proof of insurance via a Form SR-22 to the Texas Department of Public Safety
- Submit your certificate of completion of your required drug class to the Texas DPS
The state of Texas has very strict guidelines for traffic violations. Each violation a motorist receives will be counted as points against their driving record. Should a motorist receive four or more traffic violations in a one year time frame or seven or more in a two year time frame they will have their driving privileges revoked. For those motorists that are habitual traffic violations they will also be responsible for a reinstatement fee as well as the fines.
You will also be responsible for a reinstatement fee if you are caught driving on suspended as well as submitting proof that you have the required amount of insurance via a form SR-22.
If you have had your insurance cancelled or if you receive a second ticket for no carrying the required amount of liability insurance then you will be responsible for paying a reinstatement fee and to submit proof of current liability insurance to the Department of Public Safety.
Delinquent Child Support
If you have had your driving privileges revoked due to failure to pay child support then you will need to submit an order from the District Court or Attorney General’s office to reinstate your license.
Violations That May Jeopardize Your License
- Receiving too many traffic violations
- Failing or refusing a Blood or Breath Test
- Driving while your license has been suspended or an invalid license
- Failing to pay traffic citation in another state
- Driving while intoxicated
- Drinking as a minor
- Getting Convicted of a drug charge
- Having a driving condition that affects your ability to drive
- Not paying child support
- Being involved in an auto accident while you are not covered with the required amount of liability insurance
- Driving without adequate or canceled insurance
Obtaining a second or subsequent ticket for not having liability insurance