DMV Point System
NY DMV Point System
Getting the highest points you can is great – until it pertains to your driving record, which is when these points begin to hurt you. When you obtain traffic tickets, convictions, violations, and such, the New York DMV issues points that are applied to your license, but that doesn't go for all tickets or citations, and some of these points can be removed. Other points, however, can be costly for you and may not be able to be removed until expiration if any – which means that they will continue to mark your driver's record through time.
You should definitely understand the New York DMV point system, as it will identify you by violations committed, especially if you commit many during a shorter amount of time. If you are a driver that presents greater risk to the rest of the drivers in the state, these points will determine such so you aren't given further opportunities to put more drivers at risk. If you try to drive safely and still end up with a couple tickets, you aren't likely to lose your license, but once you commit several violations, the DMV will take notice and action, which could be license suspension, revocation, or permanent loss.
However, while those who obtain multiple tickets in a short time are heavily penalized, those who reach two tickets can be fined the “Driver Responsibility” fee of $100 or more for three consecutive years – something you want to avoid if possible.
How Points Affect Your Insurance
Getting automobile insurance is a must before you can legally drive in any state. If you have a great deal of points from the New York DMV, you will also garner points with the New York insurance companies that provide automobile insurance – which can be a different point system entirely. All in all, you are assessed by risk according to the points the DMV has on record for you, which will determine your points with the insurance provider – after which point you will find that your insurance premiums raise considerably with the higher points you receive.
- Before you are even approved for a new insurance policy, insurers are checking your driving records, making sure that your history doesn't prove you to be a risky driver. Remember, insurance companies are promising to cover damages and liabilities you incur on the road – so they aren't likely to offer savings to drivers with a higher risk. Even if you have only received one ticket, you can get much higher rates for insurance, with frequent violations making it difficult to obtain insurance at all. At the same time, if you are currently covered by automobile insurance and commit several offenses gaining many points, your insurance company has the right to drop your policy before you become a greater liability for them. Driving without insurance is against the law in New York and will carry great penalties, which could include license suspension for at least a year – so make sure you consider insurance policies before committing on-road offenses.
License Suspension or Revocation from Points
If you reach 11 DMV points in New York within 18 months consecutively, you will be qualified to have your license revoked for a term of typically 31 days. If you decide to request an administrative hearing to contest the suspension, you can – however, remember that the administrative law judge may decide that your case is insufficient and might even increase the penalties.
- Any points applied to your license aren't applied per the date of conviction either, but instead based on the date of the violation, or ticket date.
The New York DMV points are issued between 2 points and 11 points, based on the severity of the offense.
- Speeding over limit by 1-10 MPH: 3 pt
- Speeding over limit by 11-20 MPH: 4 pt
- Speeding over limit by 21-30 MPH: 6 pt
- Speeding over limit by 31-40 MPH: 8 pt
- Speeding over limit 40+ MPH: 11 pt automatic suspension or revocation minimum 31 day term
- Reckless Driving: 5 pt
- Failure to stop for school bus: 5 pt
- Tailgating: 4 pt
- Inadequate brakes in use: 4 pt
- Inadequate brakes in use of employer vehicle: 2 pt
- Right-of-Way yield failure: 3 pt
- Traffic signal, yield or stop sign-involved violation: 3 pt
- Improper railroad-crossing: 3 pt
- Improper lane change, pass, left of center driving, or wrong direction driving: 3 pt
- Failure to stop to assess incident you are involved in with damage to property or pet: 3 pt
- Seat belt violation under 16: 3 pt
- Other moving violations: 2 pt
While the NY point system can be a top way to lose your license, there are other ways as well when it comes to driving violations. In some situations, 11 points aren't necessary to lose your license, as 3 speeding tickets within the 18 month period is enough to have your license suspended. Any DUI or DWI first time charge will also garner 6 month suspension or revocation, increasing with the frequency of the violation.
What is the New York Driver Responsibility Program?
- Ticket convictions in New York remain on your driver's record for a total of at least 3 years, but your points automatically expire 18 months after the violation was committed, regardless of the date of conviction. Accident prevention courses are also offered through New York, which can be used to remove a total of 4 points from your driver's record if you are attempting to reduce your risk of losing your license for too many points. To find out more, visit the Point and Insurance Reduction Program publication offered by the New York DMV.
- You should also visit A Guide to Suspension & Revocation of Driving Privileges in New York State to find out more about the violations, convictions, and points that could cause your license to be suspended or revoked in New York.
- The state of New York puts forth a greater effort than other states to ensure that unsafe drivers are taken off the road, or penalized in a manner that prevents further violations. While there are fines, fees, court, and other penalties, loss of license, and payment for reinstatement of your license after a revocation or suspension term, there are other penalties as well that can even give those who aren't unsafe but getting careless something to regret about letting their violations add up. Just two violations and you will be required to participate with the Driver Responsibility Program, which includes an assessment, a fine of no less than $100 every year for a total of three years.
- If you reach six points within 18 months you are also subject to this assessment, which can be just a nuisance and extra cost that you don't want to endure each year – giving you a reason to practice safe driving at all times. Any points over 6 obtained during that 18 month period will require another mandatory $25 per point, which means if you reach 8 points, you will be paying $150 per year for your assessment over the course of 3 years. If your violation had to do with a DWI or DUI, you will be charged $250 per year for the three year term.
- Visit to find out more about the New York Driver Responsibility Program
Do You Know Your Driver License Status?
- If you aren't quite sure whether or not you have handled the appropriate matters to ensure your license is safe from revocation or suspension, you can always check your driver history report online or in-person at the local New York DMV. These records will indicate whether or not your license is valid or if there has been suspension or revocation, which means you are no longer permitted to drive and may need to seek out alternative licensing, permits, or transportation. The driver history report also details your points and sometimes even incidents you encountered in your vehicle including collisions and more.
Reinstatement of Your New York License
If your license is suspended because of failure to pay, failure to appear, or due to too many tickets or points, you will be required to report to the DMV in person with the appropriate fees to reinstate your New York driver's license. Reinstating a suspended license will cost $50, unless the suspension was a penalty for violation of the New York Zero Tolerance Law in which case you will pay $100 for reinstatement. You will also have to pay the additional licensing fees and follow the reapplication process online at Suspension Termination Fee Payment or in-person.