Online Insurance Center
NY Online Insurance Center
Getting insurance online these days is nothing new. There are drivers of all ages, types, and budget obtaining a New York auto insurance policy online, cutting their overall time in half and allowing them to use great resources available online to find the best policy rates and premiums. You should know what resources are at your disposal, and which are in your best interest when shopping for an online insurance policy for your NY vehicle.
If you have any questions about getting a new New York auto insurance policy online, you can get the need to know facts and tips all from 4dmv.com, without a long search that consumes your busy and much needed time of the day.
What Type of Insurance is Required?
The state of New York has rules regarding your auto insurance, requiring a minimum coverage limit for drivers within the state. This is to ensure that drivers in New York are protected from liabilities caused by other parties when on the road. It can definitely be confusing trying to pick the right policy for your automobile, especially if you aren't sure what requirements are mandated in New York for auto insurance.
New York driver auto insurance can be no less than a state minimum liability policy that has the following coverage included:
- Injury: $25,000/$50,000
- Death: $50,000/$100,000
- One accident property damage: $10,000 min.
- Basically, if you don't have this state required liability insurance in New York, you don't drive. If you decide to get behind the wheel without the proper insurance coverage, you can lose your license and face hefty fees that no one likes to pay.
- If your insurance policy does happen to lapse, your plates are required to be surrendered to the New York DMV. There are serious penalties for driving without a license, heightened by a traffic accident, injury resulting, or death resulting, which could be quite severe in penalties.
- If are not permitted to obtain New York plates without insurance covering your vehicle, and the same goes for any vehicle that has been insured and already has plates. If you are found to be holding plates without insurance your registration will be suspended, with license suspension the result of a 90 day lapse or more. The fines associated with not only driving without insurance or failure to surrender plates, but reinstatement of your license as well can add up to quite an amount that you should seek to avoid altogether. If your insurance has lapsed and you don't feel as if you will be reinstating your policy, bring your plates into the DMV office or mail them to the DMV at the following address:
NYSDMV, Port Jefferson Office
3 Roads Plaza
1055 Route 112
Port Jefferson Station, NY 11776-3054
If you decide that you never want to surrender your plates, please remember that your license and registration can be suspended indefinitely. However, if you do surrender the plates, your suspension will match the amount of time that your insurance had lapsed.