DUI & DWI
Driving under the influence, whether it alcohol, drugs, prescription drugs is a serious offense and one in which mover than 50,000 drivers are arrested in Illinois annually for.
If you are unaware of the Illinois DUI / DWI laws, it is important to familiarize yourself with the laws, that just might save your or the life of someone else.
What is a DUI
- A DUI driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol with a blood alcohol concentration BAC of 0.08% or higher. There are exceptions to this rule and if you happen to be pulled over for suspicion of driving under the influence and have not reached the legal limit, but your driving suggests that you are impaired, then you can still be arrested for a DUI conviction.
- It is important that any level of alcohol intake can impair your driving abilities and increase your chance of being involved in an accident. In fact, with a BAC of 1.06% you double your chances of being involved in a fatal accident.
- Although being cited for driving with a BAC between 0.05 to 0.08 is a serious offense it will not trigger the Statutory Summary Suspension of your driver’s license. There are penalties that you will be responsible for which will be determined by the court.
Statutory Summary Suspension
- If law enforcement pulls you over for a suspicion of DUI, and you are found guilty of driving under the influence your license will be revoked immediately and you will have a suspension of your driving privileges for 180 day. You will also be carted off to jail! Once you have sobered up, the state will provide you with a receipt that will allow you to drive to handle matters until the 46th day after your arrest.
- For first time convictions drivers can expect to lose their license for a length of year.
- If you are under the age of 21 your driving privileges will be suspended for two years.
Increased Penalties for Refusing Testing
- If you are pulled over on suspicion of driving under the influence and refuse to take the blood, breath or urine test, you will face stricter penalties. In fact if you refuse the test and it is your first time of suspicion of driving under the influence, you will have your driving privileges revoked for a period of a year. If it is your second time of being pulled over for suspicion of a DUI your driving privileges will be suspended for three years.
- On the other hand, if you take the test and fail, your driving privileges will be suspended for a period of 180 days.
- If you are a holder of an Illinois CDL (commercial driver’s license) the penalties are much stiffer. The court will also impose a suspension period upon your DUI conviction.
Ignition Interlock Devices
- For all drivers receiving a first time DUI conviction they will be required to install a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device in their vehicle. The device runs about $100 and you will be responsible for the cost. You will also be responsible for the rental and monitoring fees which will run right around $110.
The Cost of A DUI Conviction
- There is no doubt that a DUI conviction is one of the costliest driving errors you can make. When a driver gets behind the wheel and they are impaired due to drugs or alcohol they are taking a huge risk which can be fatal to both themselves and others in the car and on the road. The state of Illinois has little tolerance for driving under the influence and the penalties are severe. In fact, the state estimates that a DUI conviction costs the driver over $14m000. There are many fines that are involved in a DUI such as bail, bond, attorney fees and fines. , remedial education, treatment programs and court ordered assessments. The cost of the drivers insurance also can triple.
- If you are in the unfortunate situation of a DUI conviction it is highly recommended that you seek the services of a Traffic Attorney that specializes in DUI cases.
- Knowing the Illinois DUI laws are important. Education is one of your main tools aside from not getting behind the wheel while intoxicated. The following publications will help to provide the information you need to know.
- DUI Fact Book. The DUI fact Book is likely one of the most informative resources available. The book includes everything from chronology of a DUI arrest to the penalties for each type of DUI conviction. Visit to obtain the DUI Fact Book.
Use It & Lose It. The War on Drunk Driving. Use It & Lose It. The War on Drunk Driving provides information on penalties that are associated with DUI convictions and Dui convictions for those under the age of 21. To obtain a copy of Use It & Lose It. Visit The War on Drunk Driving.