• DUI & DWI

CA DUI & DWI

If you are convicted of a DUI or DWI in the state of California, you are definitely in a pickle and must be aware of the available resources that can lessen your penalties and the stress of the situation. California DUI and DWI laws are quite severe, as it is an issue that has been targeted since the early 80's, and you as a California driver are subject to the laws imposed, as well as the penalties for breaking them. 4Dmv.com doesn't want you to encounter a case without the information you need to ensure that you aren't getting the worst of the situation.

If you are arrested for a California DUI/DWI, you will require the help of a DUI/DWI attorney to ensure that you aren't on the short end of the stick in the case. You can definitely receive much more severe penalties if you haven't obtained the proper representation for your defense. Find a lawyer online today with the many different resources on the web, including Ticket Void.

1st Conviction

  • Between 96 hours and 6 months jail.
  • $1,000 - $1,600 fine.
  • 6 months license suspension.
  • Completion of Driving Under the Influence Program required.
  • IID installation.
  • SR22 insurance policy required for financial responsibility.

2nd Conviction within 10 Years of Prior Conviction

  • Between 90 days and 1 year jail.
  • $1,000 to $1,900 fine.
  • 2 year license suspension.
  • IID installation—restricted license allowed.
  • Completion of Driving Under the Influence Program required.
  • SR22 insurance required.

3rd Conviction within 10 Years of Prior Conviction

  • Between 120 days and 1 year jail.
  • $1,000 - $2,000 fine.
  • 3 year license suspension.
  • Habitual Offender designation.
  • Restricted license permitted after 1 year.
  • IID required.
  • Completion a Driving Under the Influence Program required.
  • SR22 insurance policy required.

4th  Conviction within 10 Years of Prior

  • Between 180 days and 1 year jail.
  • $1,000 - $3,000 fine.
  • 4 year license suspension.
  • Restricted license permitted after 1 year.
  • IID required.
  • Completion of Driving Under the Influence Program required.
  • SR22 insurance required.

If you are interested in finding more information about the California drunk driving laws and penalties for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you can visit  Driving Under Influence of Alcohol or Drugs

California Drunk Driving

If you have 0.08% or higher by weight of alcohol in your blood you are considered to be driving under the influence. That is for those who are over the age of 21. California passed a zero tolerance laws that makes it a punishable offense for drivers under the age of 21 to have any alcohol in their blood at all. That means that even if your level is 0.01%, you will be charged with a DUI/DWI in California.

  • Any use of alcohol or drugs, or presence in the vehicle while you are driving can also constitute a DUI/DWI conviction, punishable by suspension or revocation of your California driver's license. Implied Consent law in California makes it a law to refuse alcohol or drug testing if you are stopped by law enforcement, as you provide consent for testing when you obtain your California driver's license.
  • If you find yourself facing a DUI/DWI conviction in California, you really should take advantage of the resources offered, both in publications and attorneys that can make the process a lot simpler and the  result a bit less severe.

Choose A State